Saturday, November 15, 2014

A brief walkthrough of history:Wadiyar dynasty

The Wadiyar dynasty was an Indian Hindu dynasty that ruled the Kingdom of Mysore from 1399 to 1947. The kingdom was incorporated into the Dominion of India after its independence from British rule.


The dynasty was established in 1399 by Yaduraya Wodeyar. He ruled Mysore under the Vijayanagara Empire until 1423.After Yaduraya Wodeyar, the Mysore kingdom was succeeded by the Wadiyar rulers. The kingdom remained fairly small during this early period and was a part of the Vijayanagara Empire. After the fall of the Vijayanagara Empire in 1565, the Kingdom of Mysore became independent and remained so until 1799.During the reign of Krishnaraja Wadiyar III (1799–1868), the region came under the control of the British Empire. His successors changed the English spelling of their royal name to Wadiyar and took the title of Bahadur. The last two monarchs of the dynasty, Krishnaraja Wadiyar IV and Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar, also accepted the British decoration Knight Grand Cross of The Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (GBE).


The last king of the Wadiyar dynasty was Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar, who ruled from 1940 until Indian independence from British rule. In the year 1947, after India attained independence, he ceded his kingdom to the Dominion of India, but continued as the Maharajah until India became a Republic in 1950. He became the Raja Pramukh—a constitutional position—as the head of Mysore State in the Republic of India from 1950-1956. After the reorganization of the Indian states on a linguistic basis, he was appointed Governor of the integrated Mysore State (present Karnataka State) in 1956 and held the post until 1964.


Then he was Governor of Madras state (now Tamil Nadu) for two years. The Indian Constitution continued to recognize him as the Maharajah of Mysore, until 1971, when Mrs. Indira Gandhi, then Prime Minister of India, abolished the titles and Privy Purse of over 560 Maharajahs. The Maharajah died in 1974. His only son, Srikanta Datta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar (1953-2013), was a member of the Indian Parliament for many years.

Wadiyar Rulers of Mysore
Yaduraya (1399–1423)
Hiriya Bettada Chamaraja Wadiyar I (1423–1459)
Thimmaraja Wadiyar I (1459–1478)
Hiriya Chamaraja Wadiyar II (1478–1513)
Hiriya Bettada Chamaraja III Wadiyar (1513–1553)
Thimmaraja Wadiyar II (1553–1572)
Bola Chamaraja Wadiyar IV (1572–1576)
Bettada Chamaraja Wadiyar V(1576–1578)[1]
Raja Wadiyar I (1578–1617)
Chamaraja Wadiyar VI (1617–1637).
Raja Wadiyar II (1637–1638)
(Ranadhira Kantheerava) Narasaraja Wadiyar I (1638–1659)
Dodda Devaraja Wadiyar (1659–1673)
Chikka Devaraja Wadiyar (1673–1704)
Narasaraja Wodeyar II (1704–1714)
Dodda Krishnaraja Wodeyar I (1714–1732)
Chamaraja Wadiyar VII (1732–1734)
(Immadi) Krishnaraja Wadiyar II (1734–1766)
Nanajaraja Wadiyar (1766–1770)
Bettada Chamaraja Wadiyar VIII (1770–1776)
Khasa Chamaraja Wadiyar IX (1766–1796)
Krishnaraja Wadiyar III (1799–1868)
Chamarajendra Wadiyar X (1868–1894)
Vani Vilas Sannidhana, queen of Chamarajendra Wadiyar X, was Regent from 1894–1902.
Krishnaraja Wadiyar IV (1894–1940)
Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar (1940–1950) [2]
Rajpramukh of Mysore state (1950–1956)
Governor of Mysore state (present-day Karnataka) (1956–1964)
Governor of Madras State (present-day Tamil Nadu) (1964–1966)
Prince Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar (1974-2013)
Chaduranga Kantharaje Urs Wadiyar (2013–present)

No comments:

Post a Comment